…”Every girl is crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man!”

Posted: February 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

” Clean shirt, new shoes
and I don’t know what I am gonna do.
Silk suit, black tie, I don’t need a reason why.
They come runnin’ just as fast as they can
cause every girl is crazy ’bout a sharp dressed man.” – from ZZ Top, “Sharp Dressed Man”, Eliminator Album-1983

You know, I have spent part of my career as a School Resource Officer, 5 years actually. I have worked with a lot of youth from a lot of different backgrounds. I have developed  a few opinions on youth today, as I am sure some of you have as well.  Like freckles on a red-head, there are thousands of theories why or why not youth today are better or worse today.

Recently, I was speaking to an educator about the dress of our youth, particularly in schools. If you look back over the years the trend has come from the “torn and worn” look of the 80’s, to the “baggy/oversized “look of the 90’s and now to the ridiculous and idiotic look of sagging pants to the point of showing your underwear. I mean kids can’t even walk down the street without holding up their pants with one hand. Just a few days ago I saw an older male (30-40 years of age) walking down the street with 3, yes I said “3” different undergarments on. He had his jeans sagging all the way to his knees, underneath that was a pair of “ballers” or gym shorts sitting just below his buttocks area, and then under that you saw his boxers. It looked so ridiculous I thought to find something in the law to penalize him with. Okay, I am just kidding on that one. Although my opinion is there should be some sort of penalty for such foolishness.

But where have we gone wrong? Is this epidemic just a small bi-product of a larger problem in our society? I would say “yes.”  Although my college professor in my freshman “Juvenile Delinquency” class disagreed with my theory that parents and family breakdown are the main contributing cause of delinquency in juveniles, I still stand by that theory with a death grip.

I digress a bit  and apologize for getting off topic. Back to my conversation with the educator. He brought up an excellent point about why youth today dress in such disarray.  He stated that teachers today have dressed down over the recent years and so have the kids. I remember like you all do the “casual Friday ” dress down in the workplace. I understood the idea behind it, but was it the right thing to do? I mean, we all have heard the phrase”dress to impress.” But it seems that is a long forgotten phrase today.  

Can we really blame kids for slouching so much? I say we may have contributed to their fashion to some degree because of this new stance on dress. It is no wonder that teachers have lost respect in the classroom. Most of them dress in blue jeans and tennis shoes. I have even begun to see flip-flops daily in some of our schools. The bar has dropped in expectations in ourselves and our goal to be professionals.

In law enforcement, my Agency issued uniform in still the laughable polyester. We no longer where collar brass, but still use the traditional metal badge and name tags. We also where a firearms pin, and a “yellow ribbon” on our pockets and an American Flag pin. Goodness! In the sun we look like a sheet of tin foil! Although I wish we would go to embroidered and cotton uniforms with cargo pocket BDU’s, there is something to be said for the polished and professional look of shiny leather and boots.

Everything has its pro’s and con’s. I think personally that my Agency’s daily uniform should be more relaxed and subdued. I think comfort and durability are most important in law enforcement uniforms. There is a time and a place for shiny , pressed, creased, and sharp uniforms. But not day-to-day wear.

What are you guys opinion on the matter? Do you agree with dressing down? What does your agency wear? Does the uniform make the man,per se? Chime in and let me know what you think! ….And by the way enjoy the music video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p-y33Uq6HGs&feature=player_embedded

Leave a Reply

